Brighton Marathon 2014

Image           Image       Image

FUNDRAISING FOR THE ROYAL MARSDEN CANCER CHARITY

I am very excited to say I have entered to run in the Brighton Marathon 6th April 2014.

I am raising money for The Royal Marsden Cancer Charity. It is a charity which means so much to me. The Royal Marsden treated me for my cancer, and they gave me a second chance in life.

Anyone that has been told they have something wrong with them, and that it could rob you of your life will tell you that once you are fixed you become truly thankful for the gift of life many of us take for granted.

If you have a second chance to do something with your life, what would you change?

“A marathon is a bloody long way you know…”

A marathon is something I never had any interest in. Ever. Even watching it on TV was boring. At school I was an okay sprinter, but I lacked stamina over distance.

I have flirted with exercise and keep fit for a few years. I yo-yo’d with my size ever since I was 20, and while it did not bother me, exercise was something I dipped into from time to time. The problem I think I lacked was a target, and motivation.

The saying goes that if you don’t know where you are going, how will you know when you get there?

Suffice to say I entered into my 30’s a much different shape and size to that of my teens, and generally speaking that is fine, until you consider running a marathon!

I am under no illusion that it will be easy.

The path will be hard. I will need to focussed and determined but here goes, I’m going to get into the shape of my life!

Now the goal is set, and I have the motivation

In the past I have given a small contribution each month to worthy causes. Unfortunately due to financial restraints that stopped. So much has changed for me over the last year especially and I wanted to do something again. this time really big! I chose the Royal Marsden because their work is life changing, it changed mine, and it will carry on changing lives all the time it is able to. If I can give back a little (a bit of time and sweat) and raise money that goes towards helping someone else, surely there is no greater contribution.

All I ask from my family, friends and supporters is a small donation. I have set a target of £1000.

Please see my Just Giving page and give what you can.

Image

I will continue to keep you updated on my progress. The last 3 night’s I have been running about 5k each evening. Tonight I suspect the reality of what I am undertaking will be made crystal clear as  I join the local running club.

Leave a Reply

